Irish Show Jumping Team named RTE Sport Awards “Team Of The Year”

The Irish Show Jumping team have beaten off competition from the best teams in Ireland to be crowned 2017 RTE Sport Awards “Team Of The Year” during a show broadcast live on RTE TV last night (Saturday).

Text & photo: Horse Sport Ireland
Published  17.12.2017
Ireland’s Show jumpers, who won Team Gold at the European European Championships in Gothenburg back in August for the first time in 16 years, were among seven teams who were nominated, with the winner decided by public vote. The All-Ireland winning Galway Hurling and Dublin Football teams, Cork City FC, Dublin Ladies Footballers, Cork Camogie and Irish Rowing duo Mark O’Donovan & Shane O’Driscoll, were among the nominees, however the public decided that our Equestrian stars were The Team of 2017.

Rodrigo Pessoa’s squad of Mark McAuley, Bertram Allen, Shane Sweetnam, Denis Lynch, and Cian O’Connor, came out on top on a thrilling night in Gothenburg, with three clear rounds on the final night clinching the gold medal.

© 2023. This website was proudly made by EquiPromotion. Developed by Norgesdesign. Read about our privacy policy and use of cookies